AFCON 2022: CAF announces details for tournament with 23 nations confirmed

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) has announced that the 2022 Africa Cup of Nations, will be held in Cameroon from January 9 to February 6.

At a virtual executive committee meeting chaired by CAF president Patrice Motsepe, it was also decided that a draw to divide the 24 qualifiers into six groups will be held on June 25. 

A total of 23 teams have confirmed their places at the continental showpiece.

The nations are: Algeria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Comoros, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal, Sudan, Tunisia, and Zimbabwe.

However, there is one spot left to be contested between the Benin Republic and Sierra Leone.

The match between the two countries in Freetown was called off after five key players from the visiting nation tested positive for Coronavirus. 

The game has been rearranged for the May 31-June 15th international window.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s